Shadow Scholarship | Barnsley 6-1 Crystal Palace

The Barnsley FC Shadow Scholars moved up to third in the National Football Youth League table with a comprehensive victory over Crystal Palace.

Having been pegged back after an early goal, the Reds scored late in the first half to move in front before making their dominance count in an impressive second half showing.

Just like in last week’s Cup quarter-final win, Barnsley started strongly and soon led through Jake Vigrass’ fine strike into the bottom corner from the edge of the box.

The hosts continued to look dangerous with Harry Mayo firing just over the top of the bar before seeing a shot well-stopped by the visiting ‘keeper.

Palace drew level within the opening 20 minutes however, as the number nine won the ball deep in Barnsley territory before firing low past Jake Barton.

Barnsley responded well and had the ball in the back of the net through Essa N’Dow but the linesman had already flagged for offside.

The Reds were then frustrated by the woodwork twice, as Vigrass sent a left-footed volley from 25 yards against the crossbar before Jack Tinker’s driven cross also cannoned off the upright.

N’Dow touched in from Mayo’s initial effort to give Mark Tinker’s side a deserved half time lead.

HT: Barnsley 2-1 Palace

Jack Bennett turned in from Mayo’s low cross for his third goal in two games to give Barnsley some breathing space early in the second half.

It was soon 4-1 with Mayo deservedly getting on the scoresheet with a low shot into the bottom corner after sublime build-up play from Jimmy Pursell and Vigrass.

Substitute ‘keeper Lewis French pulled off a brilliant save at point-blank range to prevent Palace from doubling their tally before Vigrass completed an eye-catching brace with a powerful drive into the roof of the net.

Sam Awty went close with a first-time shot that went inches over the top of the bar before Tinker’s cross was sliced into the net by a Palace defender.

Barnsley XI: Jake Barton, Jack Tinker, Dom Claxton, Brandon Murillo, Bailey Oates, Jimmy Pursell, Mason Butcher, Harry Mayo, Jake Vigrass, Essa N’Dow, Jack Bennett.

Substitutes: Sandy Masuku, Will Heath, Adam Maywand, Lewis French, Sam Awty.