Shadow Scholarship | Barnsley 1-0 AFC Bournemouth

The Barnsley Football Club Shadow Scholars progressed to the quarter-finals of the National Football Youth League Cup with a hard-fought victory over AFC Bournemouth Spartsholt.

Jack Bennett, who was awarded the November Player of the Month following five goals in four games, continued his fine form by netting the only goal of the game against a strong Bournemouth outfit.

The visitors dominated a fast-paced start to the game, forcing a few early scares with dangerous balls into the box.

Midway through the half, Bennett struck with what would turn out to be a decisive goal in the tie, somehow lobbing the ‘keeper on the turn from outside of the box.

Jimmy Pursell beat a man before dragging an effort wide as the Reds dominated the rest of the opening 45 minutes without creating many more chances.

HT: 1-0 

Barnsley thought they should’ve had a penalty early in the second half after the ball appeared to strike a Bournemouth arm in the box but the claims were waved away.

Bailey Oates made an important block at the other end moments later from a powerful half-volley on the edge of the box.

The Reds had the ball in the back of the net through Bennett again just short of the hour mark after interplay from Mason Butcher and Essa N’Dow but the linesman had flagged for offside.

Harry Mayo and N’Dow saw powerful efforts saved by the Bournemouth ‘keeper as the hosts continued to push for a second goal.

Captain Dom Claxton went even closer to extending the lead with just over 20 minutes remaining as his goalbound header was cleared off the line.

Goalkeeper Jake Barton made a crucial save from a close range effort late in the 90 minutes before Jake Vigrass sent a free kick over the bar at the other end.

Bournemouth earned a corner in the dying seconds and would’ve taken the game into extra-time but Oates pulled off an exceptional goalline clearance to confirm Barnsley’s place in the final eight of the Cup.

Barnsley XI: Jake Barton, Callum Walmsley, Brandon Fearn, Dom Claxton, Jack Tinker, Mason Butcher, Jimmy Pursell, Bailey Oates, Jake Vigrass, Jack Bennett, Harry Mayo.

Substitutions: Regan Millard, Essa N’Dow, Ben Marsh, Brandon Murillo, Lewis French, Rhys Wilson.